- HOME -

... a quaint, historic village located in the northwest corner of Lancaster County...

Maytown is a small picturesque community located in East Donegal Township. The town and township are situated in the northwestern part of Lancaster County, PA. The town's close proximity to the Susquehanna River, and Old Peter's Great Road, had a very important role in the founding and early history of Maytown.

Today, Maytown offers visitors a unique opportunity to see a town that harkens back to another time. Its architecture ranges from early log structures (25 plus log homes still exist) to 19th century buildings that were built with brick produced here in Maytown.

Maytown Historical Society
Maytown 250th Celebration

Maytown, PA

maypole dance in center square


 Maytown Historic Square


General Facts & Info
for Maytown, PA 17550

Population  |  Voting  |  Legislators  |  Schools  |  Emergency  |  Misc.Info

Location Name: Maytown
Township: East Donegal
County: Lancaster
State: Pennsylvania
Zip Code: 17550
Country USA
........ Founded: May 1, 1760
Locale: Urban Fringe of Mid-Size City
Time Zone: Eastern
Latitude: 40.072273
Longitude: -76.581118
Elevation: 500 Feet

Maytown is a small picturesque community located in East Donegal Township. The town and township are situated in the northwestern part of Lancaster County, PA. The town's population in 1990 was 1,720 residents, while the township's population was 5,434.

The township of Donegal, named for Donegal, Ireland, was split into East and West in 1838. East Donegal is a 2nd Class Township that encompasses 24.4 square miles of land mass. It is roughly divided into three categories:

Agriculture ( 82% ), Residential ( 10% ), Business & Other ( 6% )

--  POLLS ARE OPEN FROM:  7:00am - 8:00pm  --

Maytown District

Municipal Building
190 Rock Point Road
Marietta PA 17547

Judge of Elections:   Sharon Suess

Springville District:

Donegal High School
955 Marietta Avenue
Mount Joy PA 17552

Judge of Elections:   John Zubeck Jr.

PA State Representative

David S. Hickernell (R)

PA State Senator

Mike Folmer (R)

US Representative

Joseph R. Pitts (R)

US Senators

Arlen Specter (D)
Robert Casey (D)


Administrative Office
1055 Koser Road
Mt Joy, PA 17552

Donegal High School
955 Marietta Avenue
Mt Joy, PA 17552

Donegal Middle School
1175 River Road
Marietta, PA 17547

Maytown Elementary
105 North River Street
Maytown, PA 17550

Northwest EMS
186 Rock Point Road
Marietta PA 17547

Emergency - call 911

The merger of the Maytown-East Donegal Township Ambulance service with the Northwest EMS went into effect in May 2004. Since then, a combination of local volunteers and paid staff have provided 24 hr. ambulance coverage for East Donegal Township.

Maytown Fire Department
160 E. High Street
Maytown PA 17550

Emergency - call 911

Serving Maytown and East Donegal Township since 1916. The all volunteer fire department is committed to providing the best service, which is made possible by generous donations from the community. Without community involvement in all facets of our Department, we would be nothing. Bingo is held as a fundraiser to help purchase needed equipment.

Susquehanna Regional Police
Rock Point Road
Marietta PA 17547

Emergency - call 911

The Conoy Twp., East Donegal Twp. and Marietta Borough Police Departments were consolidated on 6-01-1996, forming the Susquehanna Regional Police Department. The SRPD provides 24 hour service to Maytown and the surrounding communities here in northwestern Lancaster County, PA.


Trash and Recycling Pick-up
York Waste Disposal

Electric Utilities
PP & L Inc.

Natural Gas
UGI Utilities Inc.
emergencies ONLY: 800-609-4844
underground lines: 800-242-1776


Cable TV

Hazardous Materials

Telephone Service
repairs: 800-366-8204
underground lines: 800-242-1776